The Loop is led by a group of dedicated trustees who are experienced educators and well known in Wellington schools.  The trustees are the ‘think tank’ of the Loop, setting its strategic direction and determining the key activities and membership packages on offer to schools.

Dave Thorp


P     0210780424
E     d.thorp@wc.school.nz

Dave Thorp is one of the Deputy Principals at Wellington College.  His responsibilities include Curriculum and IT and he sees himself as a committed learner in both areas.

Andrew Savage


E     Andrew.Savage@educationcouncil.org.nz

Andrew is currently Lead Advisor Innovation & Collaboration at the Teaching Council. He was formerly Deputy Principal and History teacher at Wellington High School. He is interested in developing effective collaboration and community between the secondary schools in the region.

Aaron Mead


Aaron Mead is a teacher and curriculum leader at Paraparaumu College. He has school-wide responsibility to lead the junior curriculum, innovation and development. As an educator, he has a strong interest in pedagogies that promote student-centered learning and how e-learning can enable students to have greater ownership of learning and to control its pace and direction.

Alistair du Chatenier


E     principal@thorndonprimary.school.nz

I am Alistair du Chatenier. I have been principal of Thorndon School: Te Kura o Pipitea for nearly five years now. Previous to that I was a classroom teacher for twenty plus years. Thorndon is one of a small group of primary schools associated with the Loop. We value our participation as an opportunity to collaborate across sectors. The Wellington Loop provides a collaborative space for future focused educators regardless of the age of the students they teach.

Anne Coster


Anne is committed to the vision of a connected, collaborative learning community built around the principles of Education 3.0. She has been involved in the Loop for many years and values the way in which it is both future focused and responsive to the “here and now” needs of member schools. Anne is Kaihautū Mātauranga/Curriculum Manager at Te Aho o Te Kura Pounamu.

Denise Johnson


E     denise.johnson@hvhs.school.nz

Denise has returned to the Loop in 2016 after a short break. She was a founding member of the group. Denise is the Associate Principal at Hutt Valley High School with responsibility for teaching and learning. She is a strong advocate for collaboration within and across schools. She was previously a Deputy Principal at both Wellington Girls’ College and Wellington High School.

Gael Ashworth


E     gael.ashworth@wegc.school.nz

Gael is a Deputy Principal at Wellington East Girls’ College where she has worked since 2011. She has significant experience in leading Professional Learning and developing collaborative practice within the school learning community. Her 2010 Masters of Education thesis focused on Place Based Education and the Importance of Culture in Learning. Gael is committed to Digital Learning and how it can enhance opportunities for students to connect and collaborate both within and across learning communities.

Karen Spencer


Karen Spencer is Deputy Principal at Wellington High School — Te Kura Tuarua o Taraika ki Pukeahu. With over twenty years in the education sector in New Zealand and the UK, Karen is recognised for her work in future-focused, inclusive learning through digital technologies, blended/online professional development and online community development.

Louise Starkey


P     04 4639768
E     louise.starkey@vuw.ac.nz

Louise joined Wellington Loop as a Trustee in 2016. She is a Senior Lecturer at Victoria University of Wellington and comes from a background of Secondary School teaching and leadership. Louise’s research and teaching programme explores policy, teaching and learning in a digital age.

Richard Gale


E     rgale@tawacollege.school.nz

Richard is a Deputy Principal at Tawa College, where he has oversight of professional learning. Tawa has recently joined the Loop and is progressing with the introduction of BYOD.